APC Deacons

Vic Ableson, Member of the Fellowship and Mission/Evangelism committees

Jackie Bhatti, Member of Christian Education and Fellowship committees

Naida Burgess, Moderator of Deacons, Member of Mission/Evangelism and Worship committees

Betsy Eberhard, Secretary of Deacons, Member of Fellowship and Worship committees

Barbara Hughes, Member of the Worship Committee

Loretta Metz, Treasurer of Deacons, Member of Financial Administration Committee

Karen Muldoon, Vice Moderator of Deacons, Member of Personnel and Worship committees

Alice Smith, Visitation Coordinator, Member of Cemetery Committee

Debora Wong, Member of Fellowship Committee


The role of the Deacon in the Presbyterian Church is one of compassion, witness and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. The work of the Deacon is based on the Biblical establishment of helpers to assist the Presbyters. Deacon is an English form of the Greek word Diakonos in the Bible, meaning helper. Deacons are nominated from and elected by the congregation, and then ordained, affirming the church’s belief that God has called them to this leadership position. (PC(USA) Book of Order, G-2.02)