APC Session

Kirk Conover, Chair of Stewardship Committee & Member of Physical Plant Administration and Mission/Evangelism committees

Linda Gillis, Clerk of Session

Donna Hughes, Chair of Fellowship Committee, Chair of Nominating Committee

Bill Keener, Member of Christian Education Committee

Drew Mangione, Moderator of Session, Minister of Word & Sacrament

Leo Ransone, Chair of Mission/Evangelism Committee, Presbytery Commissioner, & Member of Worship Committee

Priscilla Schultheis, Chair of Christian Education & Member of Mission/Evangelism and Fellowship committees

Anna Mae Werner, Chair of Worship Committee

Lee Wolff, Member of Worship and Stewardship committees

Don Wong, Chair of the Corporation (Trustees) & member of the Cemetary, Financial Administration, Nominating, Physical Plant Administration and Stewardship committees


In the Presbyterian Church (USA), the church is overseen by a session made up of “ruling elders.” The term elder is an English translation of the Greek term Presbyter in the Bible from which the denomination gets its name. The Presbyters are either ruling elders or Ministers of Word and Sacrament. The ruling elders, who are nominated from and elected by the congregation, are then ordained, affirming the church’s belief that God has called them to this leadership position.

The session is similar to, but still quite distinct from, a nonprofit board of directors, and the Minister of Word and Sacrament is the moderator, which is much like a chairperson, of the session. Ruling elders are to discern and measure the church’s fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships. (PC(USA) Book of Order – G-2.0301)